December 17, 2007


     A regular meeting of the Collinsville Independent School District Board of Trustees was held on Monday, December 17, 2007 at 6:00 p.m. in the Superintendent’s Office, 500 Reeves Street, Collinsville, Texas.

     The meeting was called to order by President, Johnny Lee Godsey.

     Quorum was established with the following members present:  Johnny Lee Godsey, Donita Byrom, Randy Adams, Justin McDonnell and Mindy Kerr. Larry Kittrell and Darryl Carney were absent at this time.  Others present were:  Superintendent, Tim Wright; Intermediate Principal and Technology Director, Ken Kemp; Elementary Principal, Sheila Riddle; High School Principal, Cindy Brown; Athletic Director, Danny David; Business Manager, Karen Shotwell; Counselor, Kim Gammon, Torrey Price, Kim Faulconer, and Toby Kennedy. 


Invocation:  Invocation was given by Justin McDonnell.    


Citizen Participation:  There was no citizen participation.   


Minutes:  A motion was made by Justin McDonnell and seconded by Donita Byrom to approve the minutes of the November 19, 2007, regular meeting.  The motion carried 6-0.

Darryl Carney is now present at 6:10 p.m.


Old Business: 

            Press Box:  Mr. Wright informed the Board that we know who broke into the press box and wants to know if the Board wants to pursue it through the court system.  The consensus of the Board was to put it on the agenda for January as an action item.

            Cafeteria:  Kent replaced the disposal and table at the elementary cafeteria.

            Auditorium:  No update.

            Security Cameras:  Mr. Kemp and Mr. Wright suggested to the Board that they go with zero down and $265 a month for the high school and zero down and $172 a month for the athletic complex security cameras.


Financial Review:  Mr. Wright reviewed the finances with the Board.   


Administrators Reports:

            Danny David reported that basketball is underway and after the holidays powerlifting and track will get started.  Collinsville is hosting three track meets this year.

Ken Kemp informed the Board that a server was repaired and he is in the process of updating our technology plan.  Kim Faulconer gave the Board the UIL results for the elementary students. 

Sheila Riddle reported that the Christmas program is this week and that the elementary had success with the food drive.

Cindy Brown reported that she is working on the math program at the high school and Torrey Price reported on the Special Ed program.

Kim Gammon reported that special education students will have to take TAKS on their grade level this year.  She also reported that the Sophomores are getting ready to take the Plan Test.  She has invited Grayson County College to come in January to help students and parents with the financial aide paper work for college.



Budget Amendments:  A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Randy Adams to approve the budget amendments as presented.  The motion carried 5-1 with Justin McDonnell voting against.


Resolution to Tax Tangible Personal Property in Transit:  A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Donita Byrom to approve the resolution to tax tangible personal property in transit as presented.  The motion carried 6-0.


Superintendent Evaluation:  Mr. Wright explained about the superintendent evaluations to the Board.  Consensus of the Board was to have special meeting on January 15, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. to discuss the superintendent’s evaluation.



Superintendent Report:   Mr. Wright discussed some personnel issues with the Board.


Executive Session:  The Board went into executive session at 7:14 p.m. for the purpose of personnel authorized by Section 550.074 of the Texas Government Code.  The Board returned to regular session at 7:25 p.m.  No action was taken at this time.


Adjourn:  A motion was made by Johnny Lee Godsey and seconded by Darryl Carney to adjourn at 7:26 p.m.  The motion carried 6-0.  The meeting was adjourned at 7:26 p.m. by President, Johnny Lee Godsey with six members present and Larry Kittrell absent. There were no objections.



_______________________________                                              _____________________     

President – Johnny Lee Godsey                                                            Secretary – Larry Kittrell


Date:  _____________                                                                        Date:  _____________