February 18, 2008

     A regular meeting of the Collinsville Independent School District Board of Trustees was held on Monday, February 18, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the Superintendent’s Office, 500 Reeves Street, Collinsville, Texas.

     The meeting was called to order by President, Johnny Lee Godsey.

     Quorum was established with the following members present:  Johnny Lee Godsey, Donita Byrom, Darryl Carney, Randy Adams, Larry Kittrell and Justin McDonnell.  Mindy Kerr was absent at this time.  Others present were:  Superintendent, Tim Wright; High School Principal, Cindy Brown; Intermediate Principal and Technology Director, Ken Kemp; Primary Principal, Sheila Riddle; Athletic Director, Danny David; Business Manager, Karen Shotwell, Kim Gammon, Heath Gammon, Dan Fallin, Christy Waters, and Angelia Smith.       

Invocation:  Invocation was given by Justin McDonnell. 

Citizen Participation:  There was no citizen participation.

Minutes:  A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Randy Adams to approve the minutes of the  January 21, 2008, regular meeting and the January 28, 2008, special meeting with corrections.  The motion carried 6-0.

Old Business:  Mr. Wright updated the Board on the cafeteria and auditorium.

Financial Review:  Mr. Wright reviewed the finances with the Board.

Budget Amendments: A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Donita Byrom to approve the budget amendments as presented.  The motion carried 6-0.

Administrators Reports:

Danny David reported about softball and baseball starting and high school and junior high track is also getting started.

Cindy Brown had some student council students read what they had accomplished this year.  She also reported that the dance went very well.

Sheila Riddle reported that the PTO has started on the outdoor learning center.  She is having a site base meeting soon and the TAKS tests are about to begin.  She also stated that her teachers are all great.

Mr. Kemp is also having a site base meeting and TAKS is also about to begin on his campus.  He does not interrupt his class unless it is an emergency.  He did a presentation for the Board showing them the new security cameras.

Kim Gammon reported on dual classes versus AP classes.  She has begun talking to the students about their fall schedules.

Mindy Kerr is now present at 7:30 p.m.

Call May 10, 2008 Board Election:  A motion was made by Justin McDonnell and seconded by Darryl Carney  to call the May10, 2008 for Place 1, Place 2 and Place 3.  The motion carried 7-0.

Election Judges and Clerks:  A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Larry Kittrell  to appoint Gary Davidson as Election Judge, Dorothy Martin, Alternate Judge and Clerk, Shirley Swindle as Clerk and Kay Denson as early voting clerk for the May 10, 2008 election.  The motion carried 7-0.

March 17, 2008 Board Meeting:  A motion was made by Larry Kittrell and seconded by Randy Adams to approve moving the March 17, 2008 board meeting to March 10, 2008 due to spring break.  The motion carried 7-0.

Students Vandalism:  Mr. Wright updated the Board on the students that vandalized the press box at the athletic complex. 

District Salary Compensation:  The Board discussed salary increases for district personnel.

Executive Session:  The Board went into executive session at 7:56 p.m. for the purpose of personnel authorized by Section 550.074 of the Texas Government Code.  The Board returned to regular session at 9:31 p.m.  No action was taken at this time.

Administrator’s Contracts:   A motion was made by Darryl Carney and seconded by Randy Adams to extend Cindy Brown’s contract as High School Principal, Danny David’s contract as Athletic Director,  Kenyon Kemp’s contract as Technology Director and Intermediate Principal and Sheila Riddle as Primary Principal.  The motion carried 7-0.

Adjourn:  A motion was made by Johnny Lee Godsey and seconded by Darryl Carney to adjourn at 9:33 p.m.  The motion carried 7-0.  The meeting was adjourned at 9:33 p.m. by President, Johnny Lee Godsey with all seven members present.  There were no objections.



_______________________________                                              _____________________     

President – Johnny Lee Godsey                                                 Secretary – Larry Kittrell

Date:  _____________                                                                        Date:  _____________